Wyoming Masonry

First Masonic Meeting in Wyoming, 1862

The first known Masonic meeting in Wyoming took place at Independence Rock on July 4th, 1862.  Asa L. Brown served as Master of that first communication.  Brother Asa later presented the Grand lodge with the Bible and cardboard cut-out, square and compasses used on that first altar.

The Grand Lodge of Wyoming assigns sequential numbers to its constituent lodges.  Lodge numbers are never reused, regardless of the closure or merger of Lodges.

Wyoming Masonry Fast Facts

Number of members:  2,558 (June 30, 2019)
Number of Lodges:  42 Lodges

The Grand Lodge of Wyoming is a member of the Rocky Mountain Masonic Conference.  The conference is comprised of the following Grand Lodges:

Grand Lodge of Colorado A.F. & A.M.
Grand Lodge of Idaho A.F. & A.M.
Grand Lodge of Montana A.F. & A.M.
Grand Lodge of New Mexico A.F. & A.M.
Grand Lodge of Nevada F. & A.M.
Grand Lodge of Utah F. & A.M.
Grand Lodge of Wyoming A.F. & A.M.
Grand Lodge of Arizona F. & A.M
Grand Lodge of Nebraska A.F. & A.M

The Grand Lodge of Wyoming recognizes several Appendant and Concordant bodies. These organizations offer the brethren opportunity to participate in additional Masonic engagements. As well they often offer opportunity for their wives and female relatives, sons, and daughters to interact with each other and their Masonic relatives.

The list below provides a view of many of the Appendant and Concordant bodies in the Masonic family recognized by the Grand Lodge of Wyoming.

Job’s Daughters International
Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite
York Rite of Freemasonry
Ancient Order of the Mystic Shrine
National Sojourners
Order of The Eastern Star
Ladies Oriental Shrine
Daughters of the Nile
Allied Masonic Degrees
Royal Order of Scotland